About CRA-W » Undergraduate » Graduate » Academia » Gov/Industry Labs » All Projects » Evaluation » Communications » Resources » Contact Us »

About Us

The goal of the CRA Committee on the Status of Women in Computing Research (CRA-W) is to take positive action to increase the number of women participating in Computer Science and Engineering (CSE) research and education at all levels.

Visit the CRA-W/CDC Alliance page.

Visit the Participants page.


Career Mentoring Workshop for Academics
The next Managing the Academic Career for Women Faculty in Undergraduate Computing Programs all-day workshop will be held on March 4 in Kansas City in conjunction with SIGCSE 2015.  Click here for more information. 
BECA award 2014

CRA-W is pleased to announce the selection of Jaime Teevan (Microsoft Research) as the 2014 Borg Early Career Award recipient. Read more.

ACM Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award
Susan Rodger has been named the recipient of the ACM Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award. The Karlstrom Award recognizes educators who advanced new teaching methodologies; effected new curriculum development in Computer Science and Engineering; or contributed to ACM's educational mission. As we all know, this is a well-deserved award!

Press Release: http://www.acm.org/press-room/news-releases/2014/acm-tech-awards-13

Award Announcement: http://awards.acm.org/karlstrom/

Grad Cohort Workshop - April 11-12, 2014


The 2014 CRA-Women Graduate Cohort Workshop was held on April 11-12, 2014 at the Hyatt Regency Santa Clara in Santa Clara, CA. This workshop is the cornerstone of CRA-W's efforts to increase the ranks of senior women in computing by building and mentoring nationwide communities of women during their graduate studies. For a preview of what participants experienced please view the 2014 agenda.

For more information about the CRA-Women Graduate Cohort Program please visit: http://www.cra-w.org/ArticleDetails/tabid/77/ArticleID/55/Graduate-Cohort-Workshop.aspx

Harrold and Notkin Research and Graduate Mentoring Award

The first annual NCWIT Harrold and Notkin Research and Graduate Mentoring Award is given in memory of Mary Jean Harrold’s and David Notkin’s outstanding research, graduate mentoring, and diversity contributions.

Distinguished Lecture Series Events

April 11-12, 2014 - 1st National Women in Cybersecurity, Nashville, TN 

Discipline Specific Workshop

June 1-2, 2014 - Design Automation, San Francisco,CA


Support CRA-W

There are many ways to  support CRA-W's mission and projects.  Click here.   

CRA-W Supporters

CRA-W is partially supported by the National Science Foundation and the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada.   Funding has also been provided by Microsoft, Google, Sun Microsystems, IBM, and others.