Borg Early Career Award (BECA)

Dr. Anita Borg
Nomination Deadline: February 15th (annually)
Award Announced: May 25th (annually)
Contact: craw_awards[at]cra.org


The Committee on the Status of Women in Computing Research (CRA-W) invites nominations for the BECA (Borg Early Career Award).  The award honors the late Anita Borg, who was an early member of CRA-W and an inspiration for her commitment in increasing the participation of women in computing research.

Congratulations, Natalie Enright Jerger, the 2015 recipient of the CRA-W Borg Early Career Award! 

The annual award is given to a woman in computer science and/or engineering who has made significant research contributions and who has contributed to her profession, especially in the outreach to women. This award recognizes work in areas of academia and industrial/government research labs that has had a positive and significant impact on advancing women in the computing research community and is targeted at women that are relatively early in their careers (at most 8 years post-PhD1).

Nominations should not exceed two pages in length and should describe the contributions on which the nomination is based. Please submit 1 to 3 letters in support of the nomination and a C.V. or bio sketch with information such as education, job history, top 10 publications in the last 5 years and relevant outreach activities (not to exceed two pages).

Send nominations, questions, or comments electronically to craw_awards[at]cra.org (in plain ASCII text or as a pdf or Word attachment). Alternatively, mail or fax to: CRA-W Borg Award Committee, Computing Research Association, 1828 L Street NW, Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036.

1 At the discretion of the awards committee, eligibility may be adjusted for documented family-related or medical leaves from employment. Questions about eligibility should be directed to craw_awards[at]cra.org.

CRA-W Borg Early Career Award Winners